Clarkson Professor of Mechanical Engineering Graduate Graduate Wins American Welding Society Award

From left to right: Dr Daryush Aidun and Dr Fatemeh Hejripour

Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering Daryush Aidun, along with former graduate student Ms. Fatemeh Hejripour received the Charles H. Jennings Award from the American Welding Society for their paper, “Effects of Processing Parameters on Inconel® 718 Fabricated Wire Arc Additive.” The awards ceremony will take place in November in Atlanta, GA.

The purpose of the study was to evaluate the solidification substructure and morphology of nickel superalloys such as Inco 718 made by the additive manufacturing process which is used in aerospace applications.

Dr. Aidun was also among the other Clarkson recipients of this award in 2020. Dr. Hejripour received his Ph.D. under the supervision of Dr. Aidun in 2020, she is currently working as a Principal Engineer at CARRIER Co. in Syracuse, NY.

The Charles H. Jennings Award is sponsored by the American Welding Society in honor of Charles H. Jennings, who served as president of the American Welding Society from 1951 to 1952. This award is given for the most valuable article written by a student or faculty representative and published in the Welding Journal within the previous calendar year.

The American Welding Society is the worldwide authority in the development of standards, certifications and educational programs for the welding community. They are committed to connecting the welding industry to their extensive collection of resources, informing their members of technological advancements, and developing the next generation of welding professionals.